Memory Jar

20 Feb

If your house is on fire and you can only grab a few items what would they be? One of mine would be our memory jar. I love it. It is so special to me and absolutely priceless. I have always been one to save ticket stubs, hotel keys, wristbands, anything from special events that happen in my life. So I love the idea of saving all of the items from different special events in the life Joe and I have together.

I ran to Michaels and picked up a large Ball canning jar. It cost me under $5, which is a steal considering it is one of my fave pieces in our home. Then I started pulling all of those little mementos out of the desk drawers, storage totes, dresser drawers…I pretty much had stuff everywhere. I used a small sharpie to write down the year and location on the hotel keys.

I love looking at our memory jar. It is so interesting and is a great spot to keep a piece from each of our special events. And now I know where all of those special things are instead of having them coming out of every little nook and cranny. I’m excited to see how this jar will grow over the years.

5 Responses to “Memory Jar”

  1. hipearthdesigns February 20, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    This is an amazing idea! And a great conversation starter! I’m definitely going to have to grab a large jar and start stuffing it with random ephemera I don’t want to toss.

    • Sarah @OurBestNest February 23, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Thanks so much! You are going to love having all of those special things in one place.

  2. thelairweddings February 21, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    I love this idea! It’s so sweet to be able to be reminded of all the lovely moments you hAve together!
    Will you make more when one is full?

    thelairweddings.wordpress.com/

    • Sarah @OurBestNest February 23, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Thank you! Yes I’m planning on adding jars when they fill up. I may mark the jar with a tag or something that helps me remember what years the contents are from.

      • thelairweddings February 23, 2012 at 10:37 am #

        A chance to make some beautiful DIY tags! ;P

Leave a Reply

