The Love Tree

21 Jan

Around Christmas I was brainstorming for creative ways to bring small touches of Christmas into our small apartment. I have always thought little scraggly trees were simple and super cute. Charlie Brown style. So I went hunting for sticks that would work and lots of pine cones. I purchased a metal bucket from Home Depot for $3. I then hit up Dollar Tree for a styrofoam block that I stuck in the bucket and ornaments to hang on the “tree”.

It was so easy and fast to put together. My kind of project! I just stuck the sticks down into the bucket and broke a few pieces off here and there so that it looked a little more “tree like”. I filled the bucket with the pine cones that I found around the neighborhood which was a perfect way to fill in around the sticks and cover the styrofoam block. Then I adorned it with my $1 ornaments. Cute statement for $5!! Can’t beat that!

Ok..ok..so you might be thinking, Sarah it’s January. Let Christmas go. Well, the reason I’m bringing this up now is because when time came to take down all of the Christmas stuff I didn’t really want to take this bad boy down. So I decided to turn it into a LOVE tree! For Valentine’s Day! I think Joe doesn’t quite get it and thinks I’m a little off my rocker when he looks over and sees me stringing ribbon around sticks in a bucket. But it’s SO cute!

I took this opportunity to use some of my red and white bakers twine that I can’t get enough of by stringing it on my “tree”. Then I cut out hearts from some polka dot cardstock for the ornaments and used some of my ribbon scraps to tie on the branches. I just love it! Now…..what can I do with it after February 14?

2 Responses to “The Love Tree”

  1. mkminshull January 21, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    It IS adorable! I know that you will find something for March. Hmmmm…. perhaps some shamrocks or gold coins?

  2. Bailey Mikell January 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Oh I love this! What a sweet idea. xoxo

Leave a Reply

